• Loading

ЗМЕЯ – The Riot of Seduction

ЗМЕЯ – The Riot Of Seduction is inspired by the life and work of the visionary Russian impresario Sergey Diaghilev. He and his ensemble Ballets Russes employed snakelike (snake – Russian ЗМЕЯ [zme:ja]) artifice, creativity and ambiguity to break into the public consciousness of the early 20th century and leave a lasting impression on the world of dance, music and performance art.

Diaghilev’s talent for seduction allowed him to wield great influence on the European art scene and ushered in a new sensibility for hedonism and aesthetic pleasure. He brought great, cyclone-like energy to the development of new works which, sharpened and channeled through his manifold connections in the art world, drew from artistic talents in multiple fields including numerous well-known painters and composers.

In ЗМЕЯ – The Riot Of Seduction, Luigi De Angelis, Solistenensemble Kaleidoskop and the actor Marco Cavalcoli create a “choreography of seduction”, a catalog of gestures based on the celebrated works of the Ballet Russes. Cavalcoli plays the role of Diaghilev, who manipulates and seduces like a pied piper. The music is based on iconic works commissioned by the Ballet Russes, the central piece is a 70-minute version of Debussy’s Prélude à l’après-midi d’un faun. This work acts as a continuum from which the other pieces emerge, in which they are submerged, join together and reel off.

Concept: Luigi De Angelis, Michael Rauter
Direction, lighting, set design: Luigi De Angelis
Musical direction: Michael Rauter
Music & Performance: Solistenensemble Kaleidoskop
Performance: Marco Cavalcoli
Sound design: Hubert Westkemper
Costumes: Chiara Lagani
Skin painting: Nicola Fagnani
Lighting & set design assistance: Nicola Fagnani
Dramaturgical collaboration: Boram Lie

Music: Michael Rauter, inspired by and based on excerpts of
Claude Debussy – Prélude de l’après-midi d’une faune
Maurice Ravel – Daphnis & Chloé
Erik Satie – Parade
Igor Strawinsky – Le Sacre du printemps

A project by Solistenensemble Kaleidoskop and Fanny & Alexander. Commissioned by Klarafestival. Co-production Concertgebouw Brügge, deSingel internationale kunstcampus, Antwerpen and Muziektheater Transparant.

Next article

• Loading

ЗМЕЯ – The Riot of Seduction

Leben und Arbeit des visionären russischen Kunstimpressario Sergei Diaghilev sind Inspiration für die Musiktheaterproduktion ЗМЕЯ – The Riot Of Seduction. Mit der Kreativität, List und Mehrdeutigkeit einer Schlange (Russisch: ЗМЕЯ [zme:ja]) wand er sich mit seinem Ensemble Ballets Russes ins öffentliche Bewusstsein des frühen 20. Jahrhunderts und prägte die Welt des Tanzes, der Musik und der Performance nachhaltig.

Seine Fähigkeit zu verführen ermöglichte den großen Einfluss, den seine Arbeit auf die europäische Kunstszene hatte und eröffnete dem Publikum eine neue hedonistische und ästhetische Sensibilität. Wie ein Zyklon sammelte er Energie über seine Verbindungen zur Kunstwelt, und schärfte seine Vision, dass verschiedene Künste zusammen auf die Bühne gehören. Zahlreiche berühmte Maler und Komponisten wurden so Teil seiner Produktionen.

In ЗМЕЯ – The Riot Of Seduction schöpfen das Solistenensemble Kaleidoskop, Luigi De Angelis und der Schauspieler Marco Cavalcoli von der italienischen Compagnie Fanny & Alexander aus einer „Choreografie der Verführung“, einem thematischen Katalog von Gesten basierend auf berühmten Choreografien des Ballets Russes. Cavalcoli verkörpert die Figur des Diaghilev, der wie ein Rattenfänger manipuliert und verführt. Die Musik basiert auf ikonischen Werken, die im Auftrag des Ballets Russes entstanden sind. Zentrales Stück ist dabei eine 70-minütige Version von Debussys Prélude à l’après-midi d’un faune, das als Kontinuum fungiert, aus dem sich weitere Musik herausschält.

Konzept: Luigi De Angelis, Michael Rauter
Regie, Licht, Bühne: Luigi De Angelis
Musikalische Leitung: Michael Rauter
Musik & Performance: Solistenensemble Kaleidoskop
Performance: Marco Cavalcoli
Sounddesign: Hubert Westkemper
Kostüme: Chiara Lagani
Skin painting: Nicola Fagnani
Assistenz Licht, Bühne: Nicola Fagnani
Dramaturgische Mitarbeit: Boram Lie

Musik: Michael Rauter, inspiriert von und basierend auf Auszügen aus
Claude Debussy – Prélude de l’après-midi d’une faune
Maurice Ravel – Daphnis & Chloé
Erik Satie – Parade
Igor Strawinsky – Le Sacre du printemps

Ein Projekt von Solistenensemble Kaleidoskop und Fanny & Alexander. Im Auftrag des Klarafestival. Koproduktion Concertgebouw Brügge, deSingel internationale kunstcampus, Antwerpen und Muziektheater Transparant.

 Vorheriger Artikel
Nächster Artikel