• Loading
    (Photo: Transit © Tilman Kanitz)

Transit

The Solistensemble Kaleidoskop, in collaboration with the choreographer Laurent Chétouane and the composers Chiyoko Szlavnics, Dmitri Kourliandski and Sebastian Claren, developed the concert format Transit. One central aspect of their reflections beforehand was the question of the relationship between the performers and their audience.

The Bartók Saal can hold 1100 people. The decision to dispense with conventional seating allowed an engagement with the relationship between the individual and the mass. Within the work’s spatial constellation, which takes up the hall’s aspecific potential, the audience is moved about as a mass, not according to individual wishes. The restriction of each individual guest’s freedom constitutes a challenge and an imposition. Between the pieces, all performers change their locations. Laurent Chétouane, together with Stefan Griesshaber and Sanna Dembowski, conceived the respective performance constellations and geared them towards collective movements with the audience between the different musics.

In addition to presenting premieres of three pieces, Transit is thus also the premiere of a concert format. The view that music acts in a disorienting and three-dimension manner, treating places and bodies as fluid entities, leads to an interest in stage forms that go beyond a frontal performance situation. The multi-directional concert practice aimed for understands the complex community of audience and musicians as an event of togetherness. From the first moment, the ticket check at the door, questions are raised: what and whom do we expect? What awaits us?

The concern in Transit is to interrogate space, music and movement as threshold phenomena that enable spaces of thought to ensue. In opening up the ritualized concert form, Kaleidoskop asks itself and the audience a question: how is it possible for what can human beings, as individual controllers of a territory, to enter a self-perception of, and reflection on, physically spatial processes within a listening community? Thus the spatial experience reveals itself not least as a reflection on the coexistence of humans.

Concept: Solistenensemble Kaleidoskop, Laurent Chétouane
Direction: Laurent Chétouane
Musical direction: Tilman Kanitz
Space: Laurent Chétouane, Stefan Grießhaber
Costumes: Sanna Dembowski
Artistic collaboration: Boram Lie

Music:
Michael von Biel – Quartett for strings (1963)
Chiyoko Szlavnics – Memory Spaces (appearances) for 14 string instruments (2017)
Dmitri Kourliandski – Maps of non-existent cities. Donaueschingen for 14 string instruments and video (2017)
Sebastian Claren – Kaleidoskopvillemusik II for 14 string instruments (2017)

Next article

• Loading
    (Photo: Solistenensemble Kaleidoskop © Helge Krückeberg)

Transit

Das Solistenensemble Kaleidoskop hat in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Choreografen Laurent Chétouane und den Komponist*innen Chiyoko Szlavnics, Dmitri Kourliandski und Sebastian Claren das Konzertformat Transit für die Donaueschinger Musiktage 2017 erarbeitet. Bei den Überlegungen im Vorfeld spielte die Frage nach dem Verhältnis zwischen den Performer*innen und ihrem Publikum eine wesentliche Rolle.

Der Bartók Saal in Donaueschingen fasst nominell 1100 Personen. Die Entscheidung gegen eine herkömmliche Bestuhlung erlaubt eine Auseinandersetzung mit dem Verhältnis von Individuum und Menge. Innerhalb der räumlichen Konstellation, die das unspezifische Potential des Saals aufgreift, wird das Publikum als Masse, und nicht nach individuellen Wünschen, bewegt. Die Einschränkung des Freiraumes eines jeden einzelnen Gasts stellt eine Herausforderung und Zumutung dar. In den Übergängen zwischen den Stücken finden Ortswechsel aller Beteiligten statt. Laurent Chétouane hat zusammen mit Stefan Grießhaber und Sanna Dembowski die jeweiligen Spielkonstellationen konzipiert und für die Schwellen zwischen den Musiken Gesamtbewegungen mit dem Publikum angelegt.

Neben der Uraufführung von drei Stücken ist Transit somit auch die Uraufführung eines Konzertformates. Aus der Auffassung, dass Musik desorientierend und dreidimensional verfährt, Orte und Körper wie fließende Entitäten behandelt, ergibt sich ein Interesse an Spielformen, die über eine frontale Aufführungssituation hinausgehen. Die in Transit anvisierte, multidirektionale Konzertpraxis begreift die komplexe Gemeinschaft von Publikum und Musiker*innen als ein Ereignis des Zusammenseins. Schon bei der Einlasskontrolle, dem ‚Weg in das Konzert‘ stellen sich diese Fragen: Was und wen erwarten wir? Was erwartet uns?

Es geht in Transit darum, Raum, Musik und Bewegung als Schwellenphänomene zu befragen, die Gedankenräume entstehen lassen. Mit der Öffnung der ritualisierten Form des Konzertes stellt Kaleidoskop sich und seinem Publikum die Frage: Wie ist es dem Menschen als vereinzelter/m Verwalter*in eines Territoriums möglich, in eine Selbstwahrnehmung und Reflexion körperlich räumlicher Prozesse innerhalb einer Gemeinschaft der Hörenden einzutreten? Damit stellt sich die räumliche Erfahrung von Musik nicht zuletzt auch als eine Reflexion über das Zusammenleben von Menschen heraus.

Konzept: Solistenensemble Kaleidoskop, Laurent Chétouane
Regie: Laurent Chétouane
Musikalische Leitung: Tilman Kanitz
Raum: Laurent Chétouane, Stefan Grießhaber
Kostüme: Sanna Dembowski
Künstlerische Mitarbeit: Boram Lie

Musik:
Michael von Biel – Quartett für Streicher (1963)
Chiyoko Szlavnics – Memory Spaces (appearances) für 14 Streichinstrumente (2017)
Dmitri Kourliandski – Maps of non-existent cities. Donaueschingen für 14 Streicher und Video (2017)
Sebastian Claren – Kaleidoskopvillemusik II für 14 Streicher (2017)

 Vorheriger Artikel
Nächster Artikel