• Loading
    (Photo: Dan Caetano)
  • Loading
    (Photo: Dan Caetano)
  • Loading
    (Photo: Dan Caetano)
  • Loading
    (Photo: Dan Caetano)
  • Loading
    (Photo: Dan Caetano)
  • Loading
    (Photo: Dan Caetano)
  • Loading
    (Photo: Dan Caetano)
  • Loading
    (Photo: Dan Caetano)
  • Loading
    (Photo: Dan Caetano)
  • Loading
    (Photo: Dan Caetano)

The Seventy Deadly Sins

Attachments

From Barry Lyndon to Star Wars, from Ornette Coleman to Madonna, from traditional Jewish music to Nicki Minaj, from Dick Tracy to Jacques Derrida: The Seventy Deadly Sins is a wild ride between sense, sin, senses and sensuality, a musical performance of smallest compositions and large musical forms, cultural references, quotations, images, outfits and gestures. Solistenensemble Kaleidoskop teams up for the first time with artist and director Ariel Efraim Ashbel and shows their particularly playful side for this world premiere. The Seventy Deadly Sins is shown at radialsystem Berlin from August 6 to 8.

In their new work Kaleidoskop, Ariel Efraim Ahsbel and friends, in this case composer Ethan Braun and visual artist Paul Maheke, explore the relationship between subject, creature and environment. Based on the initial idea of creating 70 miniatures and weaving them together, the evening creates a hierarchy-less interplay of performers, plants, objects, light, and sound. The work questions the order of things, breaks with theatrical conventions and deliberately moves the human being out of the center stage. By linking superficially unrelated images and situations, Kaleidoskop and Ariel Efraim Ashbel and friends create a maelstrom of new contexts that elude classical narratives.

The Seventy Deadly Sins unfolds into ever-changing, unexpected scenes defined by unpredictable dramaturgy and absurdist humor: A potted plant taken for a walk, a tearful flag march, a game of hide-and-seek behind the double bass, a brief baroque dance that spills into an opulent Broadway number. The Seventy Deadly Sins paints whimsical images that linger in the mind and are woven into a new musical composition by composer Ethan Braun. Braun, who has already worked with the ensemble several times since 2020 as an Associated Artist, bounces back and forth in almost operetta-like fashion between different musical references and forms and dives into ever new emotional worlds. The musicians oscillate between operatic, symphonic grandeur and a light-footed wit. They also use instruments that are foreign to them – the string instruments are joined by harmonicas, recorders, accordions and omnichords (electronic harps from the 1980s). Ethan Braun’s compositions develop a fascinating bounce in their sometimes daring stylistic leaps.

In the process of creating and getting to know each other, Ariel Efraim Ashbel asked the musicians to share their favorite works and those pieces they have a great dislike for. The Seventy Deadly Sins appropriates some of these pieces, weaves them into its score and thus provides a sometimes quite personal new view of the musicians of Kaleidoskop. Supported by singer Jessica Gadani, Kaleidoskop enters a speculative world in the stage design of artist Paul Maheke, which functions according to its own rules and is constantly changing, and in which the performers continue to peel themselves out of their human shells.

Buy your tickets now – 18 Euro, 14 Euro reduced

 

FORMATION – A Text by Ariel Efraim Ashbel

 

Artistic direction: Ariel Efraim Ashbel
Musical direction & composition: Ethan Braun
Stage & costumes: Paul Maheke
With: Fatima Agüero, Mia Bodet, Anna Faber, Jessica Gadani, Boram Lie, Ildiko Ludwig, Yodfat Miron, Michael Rauter, Mari Sawada, Daniella Strasfogel
Light design: Joseph Wegmann
Sound design: Olivia Oyama
Stage construction: Jörg Fischer
Assistant director: Jakob Wittkowsky
Masks & costume assistance: Aline Sauer
Photos: Dan Caetano
Documentation: Christina Voigt
Production: Solistenensemble Kaleidoskop (Nina Braatz, Anna von Glasenapp, Michael Hohendorf, Volker Hormann, Alexander Krupp, Boram Lie)

Costumes in collaboration with Sample-cm Berlin and Komische Oper Berlin
Thanks to: Marcus Barros Cardoso

A project by Solistenensemble Kaleidoskop in cooperation with Ariel Efraim Ashbel and friends.

Funded by the German Federal Cultural Foundation

Funded by the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media

Funded by the Senate Department for Culture and Europe Berlin

In cooperation with

• Loading
    (Photo: Dan Caetano)
  • Loading
    (Photo: Dan Caetano)
  • Loading
    (Photo: Dan Caetano)
  • Loading
    (Photo: Dan Caetano)
  • Loading
    (Photo: Dan Caetano)
  • Loading
    (Photo: Dan Caetano)
  • Loading
    (Photo: Dan Caetano)
  • Loading
    (Photo: Dan Caetano)
  • Loading
    (Photo: Dan Caetano)
  • Loading
    (Photo: Dan Caetano)

The Seventy Deadly Sins

Attachments

Von Barry Lyndon zu Star Wars, von Ornette Coleman zu Madonna, von traditioneller jüdischer Musik zu Nicki Minaj, von Dick Tracy zu Jacques Derrida: The Seventy Deadly Sins ist ein Spiel zwischen Sinn, Sünde, Sinnen und Sinnlichkeit, eine Musik-Performance als wilder Ritt aus kleinsten Kompositionen und großen Formen, kulturellen Referenzen, Zitaten, Bildern, Outfits und Gesten. Das Solistenensemble Kaleidoskop verbündet sich erstmals mit dem Künstler und Regisseur Ariel Efraim Ashbel und zeigt sich für diese Uraufführung von einer besonders verspielten Seite. The Seventy Deadly Sins ist vom 6. bis 8. August im radialsystem Berlin zu sehen.

Gemeinsam setzen sich Kaleidoskop, Ariel Efraim Ahsbel and friends, in diesem Fall der Komponist Ethan Braun und der bildende Künstler Paul Maheke, in The Seventy Deadly Sins mit dem Verhältnis von Subjekt, Kreatur und Umwelt auseinander. Basierend auf der namensgebenden Anfangsidee, 70 Miniaturen zu kreieren und miteinander zu verweben, entsteht an diesem Abend ein hierarchieloses Zusammenspiel von Performer*innen, Pflanzen, Objekten, Licht und Sound. Die Arbeit hinterfragt die Ordnung der Dinge, bricht mit theatralen Konventionen und rückt den Menschen bewusst aus dem Zentrum des Geschehens. Mit der Verknüpfung von oberflächlich nicht zusammenhängenden Bildern und Situationen erschaffen Kaleidoskop und Ariel Efraim Ashbel and friends einen Sog aus neuen Zusammenhängen, der sich klassischen Narrativen entzieht.

The Seventy Deadly Sins entfaltet sich in immer wieder neue, ungeahnte Szenen, die von einer unvorhersehbaren Dramaturgie und einem absurden Humor bestimmt sind: Eine Topfpflanze die Gassi geführt wird, ein tränenreicher Flaggenmarsch, ein Versteckspiel hinter dem Kontrabass, ein kurzes barockes Tänzchen, das in eine opulente Broadway-Nummer ausufert. The Seventy Deadly Sins zeichnet skurrile Bilder, die im Gedächtnis bleiben und vom Komponisten Ethan Braun zu einer neuen Musik-Komposition verwoben werden. Braun, der als Associated Artist vom Solistenensemble Kaleidoskop seit 2020 bereits mehrfach mit dem Ensemble zusammengearbeitet hat, hüpft nahezu Operetten-haft stetig zwischen verschiedenen musikalischen Referenzen und Formen hin und her und taucht in immer neue Gefühlswelten. Dabei changieren die Musiker*innen zwischen opernhafter, symphonischer Erhabenheit und einem leichtfüßigen Witz. Sie greifen auch zu ihnen fremden Instrumenten – zu den Streichinstrumenten treten u.a. Mundharmonikas, Blockflöten, Akkordeons und Omnichords (elektronische Harfen aus den 1980ern). Die Kompositionen von Ethan Braun entwickeln in ihren teils waghalsigen stilistischen Wendungen eine faszinierende Sprungkraft.

Im Entstehungs- und Kennenlernprozess bat Ariel Efraim Ashbel die Musiker*innen um ihre jeweiligen Lieblingswerke und um jene, gegen die sie große Abneigung verspüren. The Seventy Deadly Sins eignet sich einige dieser Stücke an und gewährt somit in manchen Momenten einen sehr persönlichen neuen Blick auf die Musiker*innen von Kaleidoskop. Unterstützt von der Sängerin Jessica Gadani begibt sich Kaleidoskop im Bühnenbild des Künstlers Paul Maheke in eine spekulative Welt, die nach ihren eigenen Regeln funktioniert und sich stetig wandelt, und in der sich die Performer*innen immer weiter aus ihren menschlichen Hüllen schälen.

Zu den Tickets – 18 Euro, 14 Euro ermäßigt

FORMATION – A Text by Ariel Efraim Ashbel

 

CREDITS
Künstlerische Leitung
: Ariel Efraim Ashbel
Musikalische Leitung & Komposition: Ethan Braun
Bühne & Kostüm: Paul Maheke
Mit: Fatima Agüero, Mia Bodet, Anna Faber, Jessica Gadani, Boram Lie, Ildiko Ludwig, Yodfat Miron, Michael Rauter, Mari Sawada, Daniella Strasfogel
Licht Design: Joseph Wegmann
Sound Design: Olivia Oyama
Bühnenkonstruktion: Jörg Fischer
Regieassistenz: Jakob Wittkowsky
Kostümmitarbeit und Masken: Aline Sauer
Dokumentation: Christina Voigt
Fotos: Daniele Caetano
Produktion: Solistenensemble Kaleidoskop (Nina Braatz, Anna von Glasenapp, Michael Hohendorf, Volker Hormann, Alexander Krupp, Boram Lie)

Kostüme in Kollaboration mit Sample-cm Berlin
Dank an: Marcus Barros Cardoso

Ein Projekt von Solistenensemble Kaleidoskop in Zusammenarbeit mit Ariel Efraim Ashbel and friends. Gefördert durch die Kulturstiftung des Bundes. Gefördert von der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien und die Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa Berlin. In Kooperation mit radialsystem.

Gefördert durch die

Gefördert von

            

In Kooperation mit

 Vorheriger Artikel