• Loading
    (Photo: SERGE © Büro Bum Bum)

SERGE

The music theatre SERGE by Luigi De Angelis and Solistenensemble Kaleidoskop is inspired by the life and work of the visionary Russian impresario Sergey Diaghilev. In SERGE De Angelis and Kaleidoskop create a ‘choreography of seduction’ based on celebrated works of the Ballet Russes. Diaghilev and the Ballet Russes employed artifice to break creativity and ambiguity into the public consciousness of the early 20th century and leave a lasting impression on the world of dance, music and performance art.

Diaghilev’s talent for seduction allowed him to wield great influence on the European art scene and ushered in a new sensibility for hedonism and aesthetic pleasure. He brought great, cyclone-like energy to the development of new works which, sharpened and channeled through his manifold connections in the art world, drew from artistic talents in multiple fields including numerous well-known painters and composers.

The actor Marco Cavalcoli plays the role of Diaghilev, who manipulates and seduces like a pied piper. The music by Michael Rauter is based on iconic works commissioned by the Ballet Russes, the central piece is a 70-minute version of Debussy’s Prélude à l’après-midi d’un faun. This work acts as a continuum from which the other pieces emerge, in which they are submerged, join together and reel off.

Concept: Luigi De Angelis, Michael Rauter
Direction, lighting, set design: Luigi De Angelis
Musical direction: Michael Rauter
Music & performance: Solistenensemble Kaleidoskop
Performance: Marco Cavalcoli
Sound design: Johann Günther, Hubert Westkemper
Costumes: Chiara Lagani
Costumes assistance: Cristina Nyffeler
Skin painting: Nicola Fagnani
Lighting & set design assistance: Giovanni Cavalcoli
Dramaturgical collaboration: Boram Lie

Music: Michael Rauter, inspired by and based on excerpts of
Claude Debussy – Prélude de l’après-midi d’une faune
Maurice Ravel – Daphnis & Chloé
Erik Satie – Parade

A project by Solistenensemble Kaleidoskop and Fanny & Alexander. Funded by Berlin Senate Department for Culture and Europe and the Schering Stiftung. In cooperation with Radialsystem. SERGE is based on the production ЗМЕЯ – The Riot Of Seduction – Commissioned by Klarafestival. Co-production Concertgebouw Brügge, deSingel internationale kunstcampus, Antwerpen und Muziektheater Transparant.

Sen_KuEu_logo_SW_quer          Logo Schering Stiftung          RS_Logo_key_graustufen

Media partners:

Logo Exberliner          Logo digital in berlin          Logo tip          Logo kulturradio rbb

With friendly support of:

tatwerk logo

 Previous article

• Loading
    (Photo: SERGE © Büro Bum Bum)

SERGE

Das Musiktheater SERGE von Luigi De Angelis und dem Solistenensemble Kaleidoskop ist inspiriert von Leben und Arbeit des visionären russischen Kunstimpresario Sergei Diaghilev. In SERGE schöpfen Kaleidoskop, De Angelis und der Schauspieler Marco Cavalcoli aus einer ‚Choreografie der Verführung’ basierend auf berühmten Werken des Ballets Russes. Mit listigen Schachzügen brachten Diaghilev und das Ballets Russes Kreativität und Ambiguität ins öffentliche Bewusstsein des frühen 20. Jahrhunderts und prägten so die Welt des Tanzes, der Musik und der Performance nachhaltig.

Diaghilevs Fähigkeit zu verführen ermöglichte den großen Einfluss, den seine Arbeit auf die europäische Kunstszene hatte und eröffnete dem Publikum eine neue hedonistische und ästhetische Sensibilität. Wie ein Zyklon sammelte er Energie über seine Verbindungen zur Kunstwelt, und schärfte seine Vision, dass verschiedene Künste zusammen auf die Bühne gehören. Zahlreiche berühmte Maler und Komponisten wurden so Teil seiner Produktionen.

Cavalcoli verkörpert die Figur des Diaghilev, der wie ein Rattenfänger manipuliert und verführt. Die Musik von Michael Rauter basiert auf ikonischen Werken, die im Auftrag des Ballets Russes entstanden sind. Zentrales Stück ist dabei eine 70-minütige Version von Claude Debussys Prélude à l’après-midi d’un faune, das als Kontinuum fungiert, aus dem sich weitere Musik herausschält.

Konzept: Luigi De Angelis, Michael Rauter
Regie, Licht, Bühne: Luigi De Angelis
Musikalische Leitung: Michael Rauter
Musik & Performance: Solistenensemble Kaleidoskop
Performance: Marco Cavalcoli
Sounddesign, Ton: Johann Günther, Hubert Westkemper
Kostüm: Chiara Lagani
Assistenz Kostüm: Cristina Nyffeler
Skin painting: Nicola Fagnani
Assistenz Licht, Bühne: Giovanni Cavalcoli
Dramaturgische Mitarbeit: Boram Lie

Musik: Michael Rauter, inspiriert von und basierend auf Auszügen aus:
Claude Debussy – Prélude de l’après-midi d’une faune
Maurice Ravel – Daphnis & Chloé
Erik Satie – Parade
Igor Strawinsky – Le Sacre du printemps

Ein Projekt von Solistenensemble Kaleidoskop und Fanny & Alexander. Gefördert durch die Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa und die Schering Stiftung. In Kooperation mit dem Radialsystem. SERGE basiert auf der Produktion ЗМЕЯ – The Riot Of Seduction – im Auftrag des Klarafestival. Koproduktion Concertgebouw Brügge, deSingel internationale kunstcampus, Antwerpen und Muziektheater Transparant.

Sen_KuEu_logo_SW_quer          Logo Schering Stiftung         RS_Logo_key_graustufen

Medienpartner:

 Logo Exberliner          Logo digital in berlin          Logo tip          Logo kulturradio rbb

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung von:

tatwerk logo

 Vorheriger Artikel
Nächster Artikel