• Loading
    (Photo: RETURNING HOME © Sebastian Mayer)

RETURNING HOME

Ludger Engels & Solistenensemble Kaleidoskop

What happens when two people meet again after a long time? Half her life, Penelope waits for Ulysses to return, making longing her purpose in life, before Ulysses reappears after decades of war and errantry. But what has remained of the former intimacy? Is homecoming after the experiences still possible at all? And what does home mean for each individual? The music theatre RETURNING HOME, directed by Ludger Engels, explores these questions based on Claudio Monteverdi’s opera Il ritorno d’Ulisse in patria (1640), mirrored by Korean Gagok songs that were composed almost at the same time.

The musical forms of expression, which at first glance seem so different and which deal in different ways with motifs of native land, foreign land and longing, meet in the musical and spatial dialogue of two ensembles, superimpose one another and coalesce. The protagonists move through newly emerging places of encounter, with themselves and the other – the one who is deviating from the familiar.

Penelope: Anna Radziejewska
Ulisse: Eungkwang Lee

Gagok singer: Minhee Park
Percussion: Woong Sik Kim
Haegeum: Jieun Kang
Geomungo: Joonyoung Kim
Daegeum: Hong Yoo

With: Solistenensemble Kaleidoskop

Stage director: Ludger Engels
Set & costume designer: Ric Schachtebeck
Musical director: Tilman Kanitz
Dramaturg: Andri Hardmeier
Musical dramaturg: Sebastian Claren
Electronics: Sebastian Claren, Tilman Kanitz
Lightning: Arnaud Poumarat
Sound: Lutz Nerger
Direction assistance: Sooeun Lee
Costume assistance: Nora Scheve
Make up: Adriana Metzlaff
Surtitles: Su-Mi Jang
Documentation: Katya Abramkina, Christina Voigt
Head of production: Anna Bergel

A production by Tongyeong International Music Festival and Solistenensemble Kaleidoskop in cooperation with Radialsystem. Funded by the Capital Cultural Fund and the Berlin Senate Department for Culture und Europe. Kindly supported by the Korean Cultural Center.

Logo_HKF_Web          Sen_KuEu_logo_SW_quer          RS_Logo_key_graustufen          Logo Koreanisches Kulturinstitut

Media partners:

Logo tip          Logo Exberliner          Logo VAN          Druck

 

 Previous article
Next article

• Loading
    (Photo: RETURNING HOME © Sebastian Mayer)

RETURNING HOME

Ludger Engels & Solistenensemble Kaleidoskop

Was passiert, wenn zwei Menschen nach langer Zeit wieder aufeinandertreffen? Ihr halbes Leben lang wartet Penelope auf die Rückkehr Ulisses und macht dabei die Sehnsucht zu ihrem Lebensinhalt, bevor Ulisse nach Jahrzehnten des Krieges und des Umherirrens wieder auftaucht. Doch was ist geblieben von der einstigen Vertrautheit? Ist eine Heimkehr nach dem Durchlebten überhaupt noch möglich? Und was bedeutet Heimat für jede*n Einzelne*n? Diesen Fragen geht das Musiktheater RETURNING HOME in der Regie von Ludger Engels anhand von Claudio Monteverdis Oper Il Ritorno d’Ulisse in Patria (1640) in Spiegelung mit fast zeitgleich entstandenen koreanischen Gagok-Gesängen nach.

Die zunächst so verschieden erscheinenden musikalischen Ausdrucksformen, die sich auf unterschiedliche Weise mit Motiven der Heimat und Sehnsucht auseinandersetzen, treffen im musikalischen und räumlichen Dialog zweier Ensembles aufeinander, überlagern einander und verbinden sich. Diese Verbindung lässt Räume für Neues und Orte der Begegnung mit sich selbst entstehen.

Penelope: Anna Radziejewska
Ulisse: Eungkwang Lee

Gagok-Gesang: Minhee Park
Percussion: Woong Sik Kim
Haegeum: Jieun Kang
Geomungo: Joonyoung Kim
Daegeum: Hong Yoo

Mit: Solistenensemble Kaleidoskop

Regie: Ludger Engels
Bühne & Kostüm: Ric Schachtebeck
Musikalische Leitung: Tilman Kanitz
Dramaturgie: Andri Hardmeier
Musikdramaturgie: Sebastian Claren
Elektronik: Sebastian Claren, Tilman Kanitz
Licht: Arnaud Poumarat
Ton: Lutz Nerger
Regieassistenz: Sooeun Lee
Kostümassistenz: Nora Scheve
Maske: Adriana Metzlaff
Übertitel: Su-Mi Jang
Dokumentation: Katya Abramkina, Christina Voigt
Produktionsleitung: Anna Bergel

Eine Produktion des Tongyeong International Music Festival und Solistenensemble Kaleidoskop in Kooperation mit dem Radialsystem. Gefördert durch den Hauptstadtkulturfonds und die Berliner Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa. Mit freundlicher Unterstützung des Koreanischen Kulturzentrums.

Logo_HKF_Web          Sen_KuEu_logo_SW_quer          RS_Logo_key_graustufen          Logo Koreanisches Kulturinstitut

Medienpartner:

 Logo tip          Logo Exberliner          Logo VAN          Druck

 

Nächster Artikel