• Loading
    (Photo: Solistenensemble Kaleidoskop © Christina Voigt)


A comparison of musical works of different genres from the 1970s: Witold Lutosławskis’s Preludes and Fugue for 13 string players*, written 1970-72, and Desertshore, Nico’s third solo album from 1970, interpreted by the Solistenensemble Kaleidoskop together with the artist and singer ANIKA, seemingly have nothing in common and yet are two contradictory descriptions of the world of their time. What happens when you aesthetically juxtapose such diverse works from different cultural productions? Using the film theoretical concept of ‘suture’, the ‘sewing together’ of supposedly inappropriate materials, Kaleidoskop looks at undreamt-of connections between the works and genres.

Solistenensemble Kaleidoskop

Musical direction: Miguel Pérez Iñesta, Grégoire Simon, Paul Valikoski
Movement direction: Juan Corres Benito
Sound: Lutz Nerger

Supperted by Musikfonds e.V. with project funds from Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media and by initiative neue musik berlin e.V. With the friendly support of “Klangwert – Ensemble-Förderung der Aventis Foundation”.