• Loading

Kaleidoskop at KONTRAKLANG

On October 30, 2019 Kaleidoskop will present a concert with works by Ana-Maria Avram and Ernstalbrecht Stiebler as part of the KONTRAKLANG concert series.

Ernstalbrecht Stiebler is well-known as a pioneer of slowness, inspired by La Monte Young. His works exhibit a radical graduality in which subtle motives unfold over longer periods of time, rarely exceeding the piano/pianissimo zone. Recently the 85-year-old has collaborated closely with the Solistenensemble Kaleidoskop to develop a series of new chamber works, three of which will be premiered at KONTRAKLANG. Stiebler will himself perform miniatures from the cycle Moments musicaux tonals as well as a new piece at the piano.

The second half of the program features three pieces by the Romanian composer Ana-Maria Avram, who by the time of her death in 2017 had written over 90 pieces for soloists, chamber ensembles, and orchestra. Her work is marked by the conviction that every sonic experience is inhabited by a spirituality which is broken by structure and control. Her credo, thus, was that music needs space and freedom.

With: Solistenensemble Kaleidoskop
Piano: Ernstalbrecht Stiebler

Ernstalbrecht Stiebler: Quartetto basso (2019, WP) for violin, two cellos and double bass
Ernstalbrecht Stiebler: Trio (2019, WP) for three cellos
Ernstalbrecht Stiebler: DUO 4, Parallelen (2007) for violin and cello
as well as intermezzi from the cycle Moments musicaux tonals and a new work for piano (WP)
Ana-Maria Avram: Axe VII (1997) for double bass solo
Ana-Maria Avram: Nouvelle Axe (1997) for string quartet
Ana-Maria Avram: Axe (1997) for cello solo