• Loading
    (Photo: Abschied © Sebastian Bolesch)
  • Loading
    (Photo: Abschied © Christina Voigt)
  • Loading
    (Photo: Abschied © Christina Voigt)
  • Loading
    (Photo: Abschied © Christina Voigt)
  • Loading
    (Photo: Abschied © Christina Voigt)

Abschied

The music theatre Abschied asks the question of how to find a new beginning after an end. The starting point is the last movement Adagio. Very slow and still restrained from Gustav Mahler’s Ninth Symphony. In his last completed work, Mahler describes in a touching way the farewell to life and the transition to death – and at the same time the transition of time into a new epoch.

Musicians of the Lower Saxony State Orchestra Hanover and the Solistenensemble Kaleidoskop, together with the director and composer Michael Rauter, the choreographer Milla Koistinen and the artist Ladislav Zajac, explore the time span between a closed before, to which there is no return, and a still uncertain after. Together they examine what it would be like if such an intermediate state were to last forever.

Mahler’s well-known musical material will be played only in a small ensemble and reinterpreted performatively, sonically and spatially. Through this appropriation, the composition is freed from the overwhelming pathos of the great orchestral work and its multi-layered potential is revealed. The Solistenensemble Kaleidoskop thus once again creates music theatre that shifts listening habits and focuses on the physicality of the music as well as the music makers themselves.

In Beginn, the second part of this NEUN project, a double-pass cooperation between the Berlin Solistenensemble Kaleidoskop, HELLERAU – European Centre for the Arts and the Hanover State Opera, funded by the German Federal Cultural Foundation, another monument of orchestral literature is being reworked: The 9th Symphony by Ludwig van Beethoven. The premiere will take place in autumn 2021.

Solistenensemble Kaleidoskop
Solist*innen des Niedersächsischen Staatsorchesters

Direction: Michael Rauter
Choreography: Milla Koistinen, Michael Rauter
Dance: Fanny Didelot
Musical direction, composition: Ethan Braun
Stage, lighting: Ladislav Zajac
Sound design: Johann Günther
Dramaturgy: Maja Zimmermann
Costume: Johanna Perret

As part of the project NEUN in cooperation of Solistenensemble Kaleidoskop with HELLERAU – European Centre for the Arts and the State Opera Hanover, funded by the Doppelpass programme of the German Federal Cultural Foundation.

                   

 Previous article

• Loading
    (Photo: Abschied © Sebastian Bolesch)
  • Loading
    (Photo: Abschied © Ladislav Zajac)

Abschied

Das Musiktheater Abschied stellt die Frage, wie sich nach einem Ende ein neuer Anfang finden lässt. Ausgangspunkt ist der letzte Satz Adagio. Sehr langsam und noch zurückhaltend aus Gustav Mahlers Neunter Sinfonie. Auf berührende Weise beschreibt Mahler in seinem letzten vollendeten Werk den Abschied vom Leben und den Übergang in den Tod – und gleichzeitig den Zeitenübergang in eine neue Epoche.

Musiker*innen des Niedersächsischen Staatsorchester Hannover und des Solistenensemble Kaleidoskop erkunden gemeinsam mit dem Regisseur und Komponisten Michael Rauter, der Choreografin Milla Koistinen sowie dem Künstler Ladislav Zajac die Zeitspanne zwischen einem abgeschlossenen Davor, zu dem es keine Rückkehr gibt, und einem noch ungewissen Danach. Gemeinsam untersuchen sie, wie es wäre, würde ein solcher Zwischenzustand für immer anhalten.

Das bekannte, musikalische Material Mahlers wird nur in kleiner Besetzung gespielt und performativ, klanglich und räumlich neu interpretiert. Durch diese Aneignung wird die Komposition vom überwältigenden Pathos des großen Orchesterwerks befreit und sein vielschichtiges Potential freigelegt. Das Solistenensemble Kaleidoskop schafft damit erneut Musiktheater, das Hörgewohnheiten verschiebt und die Körperlichkeit der Musik sowie der Musikmachenden selbst in den Mittelpunkt stellt.

In Beginn, dem zweiten Teil dieses NEUN-Projekts, einer durch die Kulturstiftung des Bundes geförderte Doppelpass-Kooperation zwischen dem Berliner Solistenensemble Kaleidoskop, HELLERAU – Europäisches Zentrum der Künste und der Staatsoper Hannover, wird ein weiteres Monument der Orchesterliteratur neu bearbeitet: Die 9. Sinfonie von Ludwig van Beethoven. Die Premiere findet im Herbst 2021 statt.

Solistenensemble Kaleidoskop
Solist*innen des Niedersächsischen Staatsorchesters

Regie: Michael Rauter
Choreografie: Milla Koistinen
Tanz: Fanny Didelot
Bühne, Licht: Ladislav Zajac
Komposition: Ethan Braun
Sounddesign: Johann Günther
Dramaturgie: Maja Zimmermann
Kostüm: Johanna Perret

Im Rahmen des Projektes NEUN in Zusammenarbeit von Solistenensemble Kaleidoskop mit HELLERAU – Europäisches Zentrum der Künste und der Staatsoper Hannover, gefördert im Programm Doppelpass der Kulturstiftung des Bundes.

 Vorheriger Artikel