• Loading
    (Photo: © Daniele Caetano)
  • Loading
    (Photo: © Daniele Caetano)
  • Loading
    (Photo: © Daniele Caetano)
  • Loading
    (Photo: © Daniele Caetano)
  • Loading
    (Photo: © Daniele Caetano)
  • Loading
    (Photo: © Daniele Caetano)
  • Loading
    (Photo: © Daniele Caetano)
  • Loading
    (Photo: © Daniele Caetano)

A Ballet of Slug and Shell (360° Video)

 

A Ballet of Slug and Shell is the first joint work between Solistenensemble Kaleidoskop and multi-disciplinary artist Black Cracker, who is known for his works in sound, text, video and installation. This piece has been created as a commissioned work celebrating the 200th anniversary of Konzerthaus Berlin and was supposed to be shown live in April 2021. The stage version has now been adapted and recorded with 360° cameras for a special video version. The thematical and musical starting point for the music performance in 7 acts was a critical reflection aroung Der Freischütz by Carl Maria von Weber. In A Ballet of Slug and Shell Black Cracker and Kaleidoskop start a dialogue about community, practice exchange, privilege, taste, violence and discomfort. On this search to aesthetic perpectives on hirarchy, structural oppression and discrimination they question each other each other about their own artistic origins and traditions. The 360° video version of the piece will be available online on 15 July 2021.

Der Freischütz by Carl Maria von Weber is seen by some as the “German national opera”, first performed in 1821 and premiered at today’s Konzerthaus Berlin. With its romanticized image of rural community it offered a projection surface for German longings for identification and was quickly stylized as a musical “national treasure”. From the critical reflection and deconstruction of this artifact of German “Leitkultur”, Kaleidoscope and Black Cracker span the arc to an examination of their own privileges, learned traditions and the elitism of classical music and negotiate spaces and multilateral communication.

In reference to Freischütz, Black Cracker opens up new spaces of meaning with his associations, which the project explores: The decisive shot from Freischütz and motifs of hunting and marksmanship is being connected to “shooting hoops” in basketball. For Black Cracker basketball holds almost musical powers within a black american context, quite similar to “classical music”. In this search a negotiation of survival is explored, as well as the complex consequences of disenfranchisement. “Put Your Hands Up” as the DJ’s invitation to the audience is being interchanged with “Hands Up, Don’t Shoot” as the slogan of the Black Lives Matter movement. The shot with a gun, the throw at the hoop are both connected to the camera shot and the violent and voyeuristic nature of the camera with its target and trigger. In sometimes subtle, sometimes visually stunning scenes Black Cracker expands the thematic framework to include current black US-American themes and perspective, while themes of competition and police violence are woven into the work.

With a stage setting made of modular wooden structures, basket balls, string instruments, flags, video projections, white sheets and augmented reality, Black Cracker creates a constantly changing landscape. The ensemble and three performers plunge into moments of not only kitsch, but distortion and grace, within deconstructions of the ouverture from Freischütz. To swirling ambient electronic sounds, they explore constellations between confrontation and cooperation. Thanks to a 360-degree camera perspective, the audience can choose their own viewpoints through the piece.

 

Solistenensemble Kaleidoskop: Anna Faber, Ildiko Ludwig, Yodfat Miron, Michael Rauter, Caleb Salgado, Mari Sawada, Daniella Strasfogel

Special guests: Fritz Helder, Leonardo Liccini, Natasha Vergilio

Artistic direction: Black Cracker
Musical director: Paul Valikoski
Dramaturgy and production management: Anna von Glasenapp
Music production: Black Cracker, Paul Valikoski, Solistenensemble Kaleidoskop
Stage: Lau Bau, Kalma Lab
Costume: Marquet K. Lee
Sound design: Olivia Oyama
Light design: Veslemoy Holseter
Video design: Kalma Lab
Augmented Reality design: Camille Lacadee
360° video production: Black Cracker, Camille Lacadee
Libretto edit: Ricardo Domeneck, Black Cracker
Graphic design: Yule Franke
Photos: Dan Caetano
Instagram design: Laura Clock

Production: Solistenensemble Kaleidoskop (Nina Braatz, Anna von Glasenapp, Michael Hohendorf, Volker Hormann, Alexander Krupp, Boram Lie)

Thanks to: Peaches Nisker, Kiani del Valle, Lori Baldwin

A commissioned work created for the 200th Anniversary of Konzerthaus Berlin.  Funded by Hauptstadtkulturfonds.
Solistenensemble Kaleidoskop is funded by Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa.
Based on the research project “Hands Up Don’t Shoot” supported by Fonds Darstellende Künste with funds from the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media.

• Loading
    (Photo: © Daniele Caetano)
  • Loading
    (Photo: © Daniele Caetano)
  • Loading
    (Photo: © Daniele Caetano)
  • Loading
    (Photo: © Daniele Caetano)
  • Loading
    (Photo: © Daniele Caetano)
  • Loading
    (Photo: © Daniele Caetano)
  • Loading
    (Photo: © Daniele Caetano)
  • Loading
    (Photo: © Daniele Caetano)
  • Loading
    (Photo: © Daniele Caetano)

A Ballet of Slug and Shell (360° Video)

A Ballet of Slug and Shell ist die erste gemeinsame Arbeit des Solistenensemble Kaleidoskop mit dem Künstler Black Cracker, der für seine multi-disziplinären Arbeiten zwischen Sound, Text, Video und Installation bekannt ist. Dieses Auftragswerk wurde zum 200-jährigen Jubiläum des Konzerthaus Berlin erarbeitet und hätte ursprünglich im April 2021 live gezeigt werden sollen. Die Bühnenversion wurde nun für eine besondere 360°-Video-Fassung bearbeitet und auf der Probenbühne aufgezeichnet. Thematischer und musikalischer Ausgangspunkt dieser Musik-Performance in 7 Akten ist die Auseinandersetzung mit Der Freischütz von Carl Maria von Weber. In A Ballet of Slug and Shell begeben sich Black Cracker und Kaleidoskop in einen Dialog über Gemeinschaft, Praxis, Privilegien, Geschmack, Gewalt und Unbehagen. Auf dieser Suche nach ästhetischen Perspektiven auf Hierarchie, struktureller Unterdrückung und Diskriminierung befragen sie sich damit gegenseitig zur eigenen künstlerischen Herkunft und zu eigenen Traditionen. Die 360-Grad-Video-Fassung wird ab dem 15. Juli 2021 kostenlos auf kaleidoskopmusik.de online abrufbar sein.

Der Freischütz von Carl Maria von Weber gilt als die „deutsche Nationaloper“ und wurde 1821 im heutigen Konzerthaus Berlin uraufgeführt. Mit ihrem romantisierten Bild ländlicher Gemeinschaft bot sie eine Projektionsfläche für deutsche Identifikations-Sehnsüchte und wurde schnell als musikalisches „Nationalheiligtum“ stilisiert. Von der kritischen Reflektion und Dekonstruktion dieses Artefakts deutscher „Leitkultur“ spannen Kaleidoskop und Black Cracker den Bogen zu einer Auseinandersetzung mit den eigenen Privilegien, angelernten Traditionen und dem Elitismus der klassischen Musik.

In Anlehnung an den Freischütz eröffnet Black Cracker mit seinen Assoziationen neue Bedeutungsräume: Der entscheidende Probeschuss aus dem Freischütz und das Motiv der Jagd bzw. des Schießsports werden in Verbindung gesetzt mit „Shooting hoops“ aus dem Basketball. Black Cracker erspürt im Basketball in seinem Afro-amerikanischen Kontext musikalische Kräfte, die denen der klassischen Musik ähneln. In dieser Suche verhandelt Cracker das Überleben und mit den komplexen Folgen der Entrechtung. Die Aufforderung des DJs an sein Publikum, „Put Your Hands Up“ wird dabei mit „Hands Up, Don’t Shoot“, dem Slogan der Black Lives Matter Bewegung, verflochten. Der Schuss mit der Waffe und der Wurf auf den Basketballkorb wird gleichzeitig mit der gewalttätigen und voyeuristischen Natur einer Kamera gleichgesetzt. Auf teils subtile, teils bildgewaltige Art erweitert Black Cracker den thematischen Rahmen des Stückes um schwarze, US-amerikanische Themen und Perspektiven und bringt sie mit Wettkampf und Polizeigewalt zusammen.

In einem Bühnensetting aus modularen Holz-Strukturen, Basketbällen, Streich-Instrumenten, Flaggen, Projektionen, weißen Stoffen und Augmented Reality erschafft Black Cracker eine sich stetig verwandelnde Landschaft. Das Ensemble und drei Performer*innen stürzen sich mit Versatzstücken aus der Freischütz-Overtüre in die Tiefen des Kitsches, in ungeahnte Verzerrungen und ins Spiel mit der Anmut. Zu atmosphärischen, wabernden, elektronischen Klängen tauchen sie wieder auf und ergründen Konstellationen zwischen Konfrontation und Kooperation. Das Publikum kann dank der 360-Grad-Kamera-Perspektive selbst entscheiden, welchen Blickwinkel es einnehmen will.


Solistenensemble Kaleidoskop:
Anna Faber, Ildiko Ludwig, Yodfat Miron, Michael Rauter, Caleb Salgado, Mari Sawada, Daniella Strasfogel

Mit Special Guests: Fritz Helder, Leonardo Liccini, Natasha Vergilio

Künstlerische Leitung: Black Cracker
Musikalische Leitung: Paul Valikoski
Dramaturgie und Produktionsleitung: Anna von Glasenapp
Musik Produktion: Black Cracker, Paul Valikoski, Solistenensemble Kaleidoskop
Bühne: Lau Bau, Kalma Lab
Kostüm: Marquet K. Lee
Sound Design: Olivia Oyama
Licht Design: Veslemoy Holseter
Video Design: Kalma Lab
Augmented Reality Design: Camille Lacadee

360° Video Produktion: Black Cracker, Camille Lacadee
Libretto Edit: Ricardo Domeneck, Black Cracker
Grafik Design: Yule Franke
Fotos: Dan Caetano
Instagram Design: Laura Clock

Produktion: Solistenensemble Kaleidoskop (Nina Braatz, Anna von Glasenapp, Michael Hohendorf, Volker Hormann, Alexander Krupp, Boram Lie)

Dank an: Peaches Nisker, Kiani del Valle, Lori Baldwin

Ein Auftragswerk zum 200-jährigen Jubiläum des Konzerthaus Berlin. Gefördert vom Hauptstadtkulturfonds.
Das Solistenensemble Kaleidoskop wird gefördert von der Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa.

            

Basierend auf dem Recherche-Projekt „Hands Up Don’t Shoot“ gefördert vom Fonds Darstellende Künste aus Mitteln der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien.

 Vorheriger Artikel